BES principal to be named

Published 1:10 pm Wednesday, April 16, 2008

By By Lydia Grimes – features reporter
A special selection committee made up of educators, school board members and parents has reviewed applications of those interested in taking over the principal's position at Brewton Elementary School.
The seven-member committee has narrowed the field of finalists and will make a recommendation to the Brewton City School Board, according to Lynn Smith, school system superintendent.
The next City School Board meeting is scheduled for April 24 at the main offices of the board on Belleville Avenue.
Members of the committee included Kelly Webb, Lillie Dove, Becky Riggs, Marilyn Bradley, Anthony Turk, Randy Winton and Ron McDaniel.
The position of principal at Brewton Elementary School will become vacant July 1 as the current principal's contract expires.
Deborah Marriott, who has been in the position of principal at the school for the past nine years, will be retiring at the end of her contract. Her successor, who will be appointed by the Brewton City School Board, will take over the position as soon as possible following Marriott's departure, Smith said.

Email newsletter signup