Brewton City School Board receives AASB honors

Published 8:39 am Monday, September 22, 2008

By Staff
Brewton City School Boardmember Stephanie Walker was honored with the AASB President's Award for her achievements in the academy spnosored by the organization.
Four southwest Alabama school boards, including Brewton City School Board, were among a select group of school boards that received a prestigious honor at the Alabama Association of School Boards' District 1 meeting in Atmore Sept. 16.
The AASB President's Award went to the Brewton, Mobile County, Monroe County and Thomasville boards of education.
At least 60 percent of these boards' members have attended three or more AASB School Board Member Academy courses in the 2007-08 academy year that ended June 30.
The President's Award recognizes school boards for their dedication to improving their boardmanship skills.   
Patsy Black of Monroe County serves as director of District 1, which includes school boards in Baldwin, Clarke, Conecuh, Escambia, Mobile, Monroe and Washington counties; in Brewton, Saraland and Thomasville; and the Alabama School of Mathematics and Science board.
Brewton City School Board members include Walker, Lillie Dove, Terrell Neal, Keith Miller and Ola Ball.