Brewton council members honored

Published 1:52 pm Wednesday, October 29, 2008

By By Lisa Tindell – news editor
Three outgoing council members were recognized Tuesday during the Brewton City Council meeting.
Mayor Ted Jennings recognized Anne Marie Sasser, William McGhee and Henry Uptagrafft for their services on the board.
Anne Marie Sasser, councilwoman for District 1, chose not to seek reelection to the position. The seat for District 1 will be occupied by Dennis Dunaway beginning Nov. 3
Sasser expressed appreciation to the citizens of district 1 as well as to the mayor and council.
Councilman William McGhee, district 4 representative, lost his bid for reelection to Joe Nathan Watson in the recent municipal elections.
McGhee said he was grateful for the opportunity to serve the citizens and thanked Mayor Jennings for his leadership.
Henry Uptagrafft, councilman for district 5, will be replaced on the council by newly elected councilman Fred Barton.
Uptagrafft said he had enjoyed serving the citizens of his district for four years and wished the mayor and council much success.
The oath of office for mayor and council members will be administered Nov. 3 beginning at 9 a.m. in the council chambers at Brewton City Hall.

Email newsletter signup