JDCC announces Murder Creek Classic golf winners

Published 3:05 pm Wednesday, November 5, 2008

By Staff
A team of golfers sponsored by BankTrust of Brewton captured first place at the ninth annual Jefferson Davis Community College Foundation Murder Creek Classic Golf Tournament held Oct. 16 at the Country Club of Brewton.
The team consisted of John Barnett; Steve Nelson Sr.; Steve Nelson Jr.; and Tom McMillan.
Second place went to McGowin Miller, Michael English, Edward McMillan, and Jack Hines.
Capturing third place was Dr. “Cop” Walker, Dr. Joe Terrell, Rick Wilson, and Kevin Terrell.
In the Second Flight, Ed Williamson, Chris Coleman, James Ward, and Tommy Thompson were first place winners.
Walter DeWitt, Jerry Carpenter, Bob Green, and R. P. Phillips placed second with Reid McBride, B. J. Griffin, Bill Watson, and Floyd Grice coming in third.
Greg Fleming, Cindy Fleming, Jim Shirley, and Mary Shirley won first place in the Third Flight.
Second place went to Greg Shafer, Skeeter Schilling, Beau Daves, and Al Cox.
Third place winners were David Lewandowski, Rick Conley, Britt Rowland, and Jason Adcock.
Women's Flight first place went to Karen Reynolds, Jane McMillan, Kate Owens, and Nan Wilson.
Golfers participating in the tournament also competed for the BankTrust of Brewton Closest-to-the-Pin Shoot-Out with Bob Green, a member of the Escambia County Bank of Flomaton Team, winning the prize.
Elimination round winners were: Chris Coleman, Irene Irvin, Bob Green, Rigby McMillan, Jack Hines, Ron Cauley, Kevin Terrell, Cheryl Najor, B. J. Griffin, Brad Byrne, Reid McBride, and Steve Nelson Sr.

Email newsletter signup