Pow Wow draws large crowd

Published 6:53 pm Wednesday, December 3, 2008

By By MaryClaire Foster
The annual Poarch Creek Indians Pow Wow, celebrating the Tribe's heritage and culture, was attended by more than 6,000 people on Thanksgiving weekend.
The Pow Wow, in its 38th year, was the beneficiary of good weather according to Edie Jackson, tribal administrator.
Barbara Dycus, of Jay, Fla., has attended the Pow Wow for the last four years and said this was the biggest crowd she has seen.
Dycus said one of the main reasons they go is for the dance competition, what she considers the highlight of the event.
This year's dance competition featured 145 competitors.
Jackson said several members of the Pow Wow Club, a Tribal youth group, also participated in the dance competition along with performing as a group.
Because of the high number of attendees, sales were up, but the unexpected increase in people caused popular items, like the roasted corn, to sell out.
Jackson added that the many vendors also benefited from the increase in people.
One of the main events of the Pow Wow is the Princess Contest. Three groups compete to be the princess in different age groups. The senior group is for ages 16 to 20, the junior is for ages 12 to 15 and the elementary is for ages 8 to 11. The senior princess winner was Danielle Martin of Northview High School and first alternate was Tori Rodriguez of Escambia Academy; junior princess winner was Deidra Smith of Atmore Christian School and first alternate was Brooke Tullis of Northview High School and the elementary princess winner was Kennedy McGhee of Huxford Elementary, first alternate was Halle Ra Peebles elementary age group.
Martin said the experience was very enjoyable.
Elementary princess McGhee said winning was a very positive experience for her.
Peebles, the youngest girl in her age group at 8-years-old, agreed that competing was exciting for her as well.
Jackson said due to restructuring within the Tribe, the Calvin McGhee Cultural Authority will oversee the Pow Wow next year and there might be changes, which she expects to be positive.
The Pow Wow Committee, made up of Shirley Roberson, Chris Blackburn, Connie Vickery, Gloria Fowler, Mandy Peebles, Gayle Johnson and Edie Jackson, organized this year's Pow Wow. 

Email newsletter signup