JDCC's Moore wins award

Published 8:50 pm Wednesday, December 17, 2008

By By Lisa Tindell – news editor
Maurice Moore, who serves as the director of campus life at Jefferson Davis Community College, can now add another title to his resume - best of the best in Alabama.
Moore received the 2008 Alabama Community College System's Chancellor's award in administration. He was chosen from a field of 21 administrators being considered for the award.
Jefferson Davis Community College President Dr. Susan McBride said staff and faculty are pleased with Moore's recognition.
Moore began employment at Jefferson Davis Community College on July 1, 1991 as an adult education instructor. Over the years, he has served the college in various roles including division chair of the special services and adult division, associate dean of technical education, director of evening services, and director of instructional support. He assumed the role of Director of Campus Life in 1999 and has provided leadership for the revitalization of student activities on the Brewton and Atmore campuses.
Moore also serves as director of instructional support and as Title III activity director.
The state award is given each year to an administrator of the two-year college system who has demonstrated superior performance in professional service to the community and students and personal efforts toward professional development and educational attainment.
In the nomination packet submitted for award consideration, Moore's accomplishments were outlined spanning several areas of service to Jefferson Davis Community College.
The nomination quoted Moore as saying he feels that professional service including membership and service on committees at JDCC contributes to the integrity, growth, and validity of educational processes at postsecondary institutions in Alabama.
Each year, 22 participating community and technical colleges submit nominations for consideration of receiving the Chancellor's Awards.
Along with the administrators division, nominations are also accepted in academic faculty, technical faculty and support staff divisions.
Moore was nominated in the administrator divisions.
Other JDCC nominees for awards included Dr. Marilyn Nicholson, faculty; Deborah Albritton, faculty; and Kelly Stanford, support staff.

Email newsletter signup