WSN JV beats TRM, wins tourney

Published 9:22 am Wednesday, March 25, 2009

By By Adam Robinson
Sports Editor

After sweeping a JV tournament in Monroeville over the weekend and winning the tournament championship, the W.S. Neal Eagle JV team improved their record with a 5-1 win over the T.R. Miller Tigers Monday in East Brewton.
W.S. Neal scored two runs in each of the first and third innings after trailing 1-0 after a half inning of play and then added one run in the fourth inning to get the win.
Dylan Godwin got the start on the mound and the win for the Eagles in one inning of pitching. Godwin allowed one run on no hits and struck out one.
Bradley Brown came in relief of Godwin in the top of the second and Tigers on first and second and allowed no runs on three hits, struck out six in four innings.
Sawyer led the Eagles at the plate with a 1-for-2 day and two RBIs. Brian Settle was 1-for-2 with one RBI and Monterrius Culliver and Hunter Mullins were both 1-for-2.
Tyler Dehoff took the loss on the mound for the Tigers in four innings. Dehoff had three strikeouts in the loss.
Blake Blackmon was 1-for-2 for the Tigers and Ryland Dixon had the lone RBI.
Tyler Nelms was 1-for-1 and Dehoff was 1-for-2 in the loss.
The W.S. Neal JV baseball team played in a tournament at Monroe County High School over the weekend and took home the tournament championship.
The Eagles of W.S. Neal played all three of their games in row with no games in between and swept the tournament field to bring home the tournament championship.
In their first game of the tournament against J.U. Blacksher, the Eagles won 17-1 and in their second game, defeated Monroe County 9-2.
In the third and final game of the tournament, the Eagles defeated Excel 6-3.
W.S. Neal 17, JUB 1
The Eagles scored 10 runs in the third inning to go along with their four in the first inning and three in the second to claim the win.
Dylan Godwin pitched two innings and Hunter Mullins pitched the final inning of the game that was called at the end of the third inning.
Monterrius Culliver was 1-for-2 and Hayden Cooper was 1-for-1 at the plate for the Eagles.
Gary McGraw was 1-for-3 with one RBI and Dylan Godwin was 1-for-3 with two RBIs.
Hunter Mullins was 1-for-3 with one RBI and Brian Settles and Jeremy Myers both had two RBIs.
Bradley Brown was 1-for-2 in the win.
W.S. Neal 9, MCHS 2
Hayden Cooper and Dylan Godwin pitched in game two against the host team Monroe County.
Cooper picked up the win and went 4 2/3 innings allowing two runs on six hits, striking out five and walking three.
Tyler Sawyer was 1-for-2 with two RBIs and Gary McGraw was 1-for-3 with one RBI. Damion Williams added one RBI and Dylan Godwin had one RBI and was 1-for-3.
Hunter Mullins was 1-for-2 with one RBI and Jeremy Myers was 2-for-2 and Bradley Brown was 1-for-1.
W.S. Neal 6, Excel 3
Joseph Strength pitched the entire third game and the Eagles ended the tournament with a 3-0 record to win the championship.
Sawyer was 2-for-3 and McGraw was 1-for-3 with two RBIs. Godwin was 2-for-2 with one RBI and Mullins was 1-for-1 with one RBI.
For the tournament, Godwin was 4-for-8 with three runs and four RBIs. Jeremy Myers was 4-for-6 with two runs. Hunter Mullins was 3-for-6 with four runs and three RBIs and Tyler Sawyer was 4-for-6 with six runs, two RBIs and five stolen bases.
Gary McGraw was 3-for-9 with two runs and four RBIs.
Joseph Strength and Tyler Sawyer made the all tournament team and Dylan Godwin was the MVP of the tournament.

Email newsletter signup