TRM honors spring teams

Published 2:37 pm Wednesday, May 13, 2009

By By Adam Robinson
Sports Editor

T.R. Miller High School recognized their 11 spring sports teams Monday night with a banquet at First Baptist Church in Brewton.
Athletes, coaches, family, friends and administration were treated to a dinner at 6 p.m. in Bell Chapel before having the awards ceremony at 6:30 p.m. in the church sanctuary.
A total of 33 awards were given to 27 athletes with six athletes winning multiple awards.
Volleyball, boys and girls basketball, baseball, girls and boys tennis, softball, boys and girls cross-county, and boys and girls track were all recognized.
The Tigers celebrated two state championships in girls basketball and boys track and two state runner-ups in girls cross-country and girls track.
Alabama state Rep. and former T.R. Miller coach Alan Baker presented House resolutions and proclamations to the girss basketball head coach Ron Jackson for their state championship and to T.R. Miller athletic director and head football coach Jamie Riggs for being named Greater Brewton Area Chamber of Commerce’s citizen of the year. Baker said House resolutions would also be made for the class 3A state champion boys track teams.
Along with certificates of participation and “Ms,” special awards were given to athletes.
In volleyball, Elizabeth Nelson was named offensive MVP and Janel McCorvey was named defensive MVP. Morgan Hubbard and Brandi Kennedy were named captains.
In boys basketball, Justin Payne was named offensive MVP and team captain along with Corey Redfearn who was named defensive MVP and Joe McCorvey who was named most improved.
In baseball, Sam Sharpe was named the MVP for pitching and highest batting average. Stephen Warren was named defensive MVP and Grant DeFrancisco was named the Brock Joyner award winner.
For tennis, Jamie Li was named girls MVP while Nick Dorso was named MVP on the boys side.
For softball, Taylor Guthrie was named offensive and defensive MVP and Brandi Kennedy was named captain.
In boys and girls cross-country, Geoff Youngblood and Karisa Nelson were named MVPs.
In girls track, Katie Nelson was named Rookie of the Year and Shelby Youngblood was named most valuable runner. Zykeya Barton was named most valuable field event and Karisa Nelson was the track MVP.
For the boys, Mabry Cook was named MVP in the field events and Geoff Youngblood was named most valuable runner. Caleb Hubbard and Anthony Herbert were both named rookies of the year and Terez Lane was named most valuable player.
For girl’s basketball, Keydra Shedrone was named most valuable for defense and Shae Kiser was most improved. Leading rebounder was Nakiya Smith and most valuable player was Kesha Peterson with Catherine Green being named captain.