Duo named to All-State

Published 5:20 pm Monday, June 15, 2009

By By Adam Robinson
Sports Editor

By Adam Robinson
sports editor
Two local baseball and softball athletes joined a list of other athletes from the state to be named to the Alabama Sports Writers Association’s All State team.
W.S. Neal baseball player William Shell and T.R. Miller softball player Taylor Guthrie were named to the list.
Shell, a recent graduate of W.S. Neal, was named to the class 4A list as an honorable mention pitcher.
Guthrie, a freshman softball player for T.R. Miller, was named as as honorable mention first baseman.
Shell helped lead the Eagle baseball team to a 10-9 record, while Guthrie helped lead the Lady Tigers to a 20-9 record.
W.S. Neal failed to make the playoffs this season. Guthrie and the Lady Tigers advanced to the class 3A softball regionals in Gulf Shores before falling in two games.
Shell was also a football and basketball player at W.S. Neal. Guthrie also played volleyball and track.
The following is a list of other All State athletes:
P – Ryan Forester, Haleyville, Jr.
P – Chase Handy, Hokes Bluff, Jr.
P – C.C. Watson, Cleburne County, Sr.
P – Jay Williams, Thomasville, Jr.
C – Judson Sherrill, Haleyville, Jr.
1B – Daniel Arant, Holtville, Jr.
2B – Dillon Patterson, Alabama Christian, Jr.
SS – Chad Dickinson, Jackson, Sr.
3B – Reeves Bozeman, Thomasville, Sr.
OF – Alex Buford, Thomasville, Sr.
OF – Jordan Creel, Alabama Christian, Jr.
OF – Josh Podoris, Childersburg, Sr.
UTL – Chase Davis, Alabama Christian, So.
UTL – Justin Robinson, Clarke County, Sr.
DH – Luke Davis, Fairview, Jr.
DH – Ethan Vinyard, Alexandria, Sr.
Class 4A MVP: C.C. Watson, Cleburne County
Class 4A Pitcher of the Year: C.C. Watson, Cleburne County
Class 4A Hitter of the Year: Reeves Bozeman, Thomasville
Class 4A Coach of the Year: Todd McNutt, Haleyville
Class 4A Honorable Mention
Pitcher: Drew Batchelor, Haleyville, Sr.; Weslee Franklin, St. Clair County, Sr.; Gabe Graham, Plainview, Sr.; Cole Limbaugh, Childersburg, So.; Jordon Linzey, Central-Florence, Jr.; William Shell, W.S. Neal, Sr.
Catcher: Jeremy Hale, Priceville, Sr.; Jeremy Hobson, Bibb County, Sr.
First base: Josh Haynes, Alexandria, Sr.
Second base: Chris Dixon, Brewbaker Tech, Sr.
Shortstop: Jalen Goree, Bibb County, Sr.
Third base: Ryan Lawley, Bibb County, Fr.
Outfield: Austin Garrison, Oneonta, Sr.; Marcus Ingram, Andalusia, Jr.; Jackson Jones, Central-Florence, Sr.; Hunter Kelley, Alexandria, Jr.; Tevin Pope, Thomasville, Jr.; Stephen Starkey, Priceville, So.
Utility: Zac Isbell, Calera, Jr.; Dakoda Wells, Saks, Sr.; Chase Williamson, UMS-Wright, So.; Dana Wright, Plainview, Sr.
Designated hitter: Garason Humphries, Hokes Bluff, Sr.; Nick Masonia, Brooks, So.; T.J. Oates, Holtville, Jr.
P – Emily Ivey, Sumiton Christian, So.
P – Lauren Seibert, West Morgan, Sr.
P – Jordan Sims, Glencoe, 8th
P – Kaitlynn Wiggins, Straughn, So.
C – Shelby Holley, Pisgah, So.
1B – Anna Grace Usery, Elkmont, So.
2B – Hannah Holmes, Susan Moore, Jr.
SS – Hayden Hamby, West Morgan, Fr.
3B – Cassidy Littlefield, Slocomb, So.
OF – Ella Denes, Pisgah, Fr.
OF – Shanise Hudson, Montevallo, Jr.
OF – Keya Wiggins, Abbeville, Fr.
UTL – Laci Driggers, Leeds, Jr.
UTL – Lacey Williams, Slocomb, Jr.
DH – Breanna Ball, Pisgah, Sr.
DH – Melanie Franks, Susan Moore, Sr.
Class 3A MVP: Lauren Seibert, West Morgan
Class 3A Pitcher of the Year: Lauren Seibert, West Morgan
Class 3A Hitter of the Year: Shelby Holley, Pisgah
Class 3A Coach of the Year: Keith Harris, West Morgan
Class 3A Honorable Mention
Pitcher: Brooke Crawford, Pisgah, So.; Michael Robertson, Northside, Sr.
Catcher: Alicia Bailey, Glencoe, Sr.; Stephanie Bracewell, Straughn, Jr.
First base: Taylor Guthrie, T.R. Miller, Fr.; Chelsi Matthews, Glencoe, Sr.
Second base: Caroline Wilder, Trinity, Fr.
Shortstop: Arica Dykes, Wicksburg, Sr.
Third base: Jennifer Smith, Susan Moore, Sr.
Outfield: Tiffany Adams, Elkmont, Fr.; Amber Dilley, Leeds, Sr.; T’Ebonie Tanner, Sumiton Christian, Fr.
Utility: Miranda Stewart, Piedmont, Sr.
Designated hitter: Raven Grubbs, Abbeville, Jr.

Email newsletter signup