Move-over law strengthened
Published 11:30 pm Wednesday, August 12, 2009
from staff reports
An expanded Alabama “move-over” law provides an added measure of safety for Alabama emergency responders stopped or parked roadside with emergency signals activated, said Col. J. Christopher Murphy, director of the Alabama Department of Public Safety.
The newly enhanced law adds wreckers to emergency response vehicles for which motorists must move over one lane. When moving over is unsafe or not possible, such as on two-lane roadways, the law requires motorists to slow at least 15 mph below the posted speed limit. Motorists must slow down to 10 mph when the posted limit is 20 mph or less.
A six-month warning and educational period for the new law began Aug. 1. Once the warning period concludes, citations for violation of the “move-over” law will carry a fine of up to $25 for first offense and increasing fines for second and subsequent offenses.
Murphy said Public Safety is working to promote public awareness of the law and its requirements. Thanks to the Alabama Department of Transportation, posters will be placed in state rest areas and welcome centers, and DPS is posting information in all state driver license offices. State trooper public information/safety education officers are helping educate Alabamians about the new law during public appearances and safety talks. In addition, information about the law is available on DPS’s Web site, http://dps.alabama.gov .
Alabama first enacted “move-over” regulations in 2006, and the majority of states have adopted versions of the law. According to the National Law Enforcement Officers’ Memorial Fund, 154 officers nationwide have been killed as the result of being struck while working roadside during the last 10 years.