‘A Great Honor’|TRM’s Brown named Lineman of Year

Published 2:32 pm Monday, December 28, 2009

By By Adam Robinson
sports editor

T.R. Miller Tiger football Johntae Brown has been named 3A Lineman of the Year by the Alabama Sportswriters Association for the 2009.
Brown, a 5-9, 241 lb. senior defensive player racked up 106 tackles, 25 for loss, and had eight sacks this season for the Tigers. Those numbers helped lead the Tigers to a 10-2 season and the second round of the AHSAA state playoffs before losing to Luverne 19-14.
Brown and the Tiger defense allowed 188 total points this season in 12 games for an average of 15.7 points a game.
T.R. Miller Tiger head coach Jamie Riggs had mentioned that Brown was one of the best, if not the best, defensive lineman every in T.R. Miller history while nominating Brown.
Of all the success the Tiger teams have had, six state championships and five runner-ups, Riggs said Brown was the first Tiger player to win lineman of the year.
In 2001, Rayvon Howard took back of year for class 4A.
Just like Alabama’s Mark Ingram winning the Crimson Tide’s their first Heisman trophy winner in the 75-year history of the trophy, Brown becomes the first Tiger winner in the rich tradition.
As for plans after high school for football, Brown hopes to play ball somewhere.
Also with Brown on the All-State list for the Tigers, three other players made the team with Brown being the lone first-team winner.
Nick Etheridge won honorable mention for the offensive line and Cody Swain won honorable mention for tight end.
Both Etheridge and Swain are seniors.
Junior Anthony Herbert won honorable mention of running back has he rushed for 1,234 yards on 172 carries and had 26 touchdowns.