Jennings wins council city; McCall new mayor in Riverview

Published 9:38 am Wednesday, August 26, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

With what officials called a “paltry turnout” in Tuesday’s  municipal election in Brewton, some changes came as a result of the ballots cast.

In District 2, Incumbent Lawrence Weaver received 97 votes to challenger David Jennings’ 154 vote.

“I want to Commend Lawrence Weaver, not only on the race he ran but also his service to the city as a councilman and a long-time fire chief,” Jennings said following his win.  “He’s been a friend to Brewton and we are better for having him here.”

Jennings said he is looking forward to the work ahead in his new position.

“I’m excited about the opportunity,” Jennings said. “Brewton is not broken by any means. A lot of good things go on here on a daily basis. I have an energy and passion for this place and I’m looking forward to joining the city council and serving the city.”

In District 4, Incumbent Joe Watson held on to his set by pulling in 88 votes. Contender Patrick Hendrieth tallied 56 votes in the race.

In District 5, Cheryl Barton kept her seat at the council table with 82 votes while challenger Richard Royce received 32 votes in race.

Council members Carrie Brown in District 1 and Feast Broughton in District 3 were not challenged in the election.

In Riverview, the seat of the mayor will have a new occupant when the term begins.

Lisa Marie McCall unseated long-time mayor Carl Smith was unseated in the race by a score of 31 to 21.

A total of 84 absentee ballots were cast in the Brewton municipal election.

Provisional ballots were not included in the final tally for the election. The Brewton City Council will hold a regular business meeting at noon on Tuesday, Sept. 1 to certify the election results.

The City of East Brewton council and mayors seats were unchanged and no election was needed in the city. None of the members of government in the city were challenged for their positions.

Mayor Terry Clark and councilmen Ned Siebert, Kenny Hultz, Ludon Simmons and Bob Arant were unopposed in the election. Councilman Byron Palmer chose not to seek re-election in the race. John Stephens was the only qualifier for the election and had no other candidate come against him for the seat.

Following certification of the votes by the current members of the Brewton City Council, new and returningcouncil members will take their seat s at the table when the new term begins.